“Why So Serious?” The 2012 Mixtape – The Walkmen’s “In the New Year”

17-in-the-new-year1

Stats
Length: 4:46
Originally released on:  You & Me (August 19, 2008)
Samples: “Auld Lang Syne”

You took our sweet time and finally I opened my eyes…

I’m copping out on this one. And for that, I apologize.

You see, when exploring the 17 songs that make up Why So Serious, I’ve tried to strike a balance between analysing the songs themselves and providing a bit of personal context as to why they meant something to me this past year. They’ve hardly been the most insightful things I’ve ever written, but for the most part I think I’ve succeeded in meeting my modest goals.

But now, at the very end, I find this balance unsustainable. Because to explain to you why “In the New Year” fits here would require a level of self-confession that would threaten to produce the single most “emo” post in the history of McNutt Against the Music. And I’m not willing to do that to you, dear reader.

So you’ll have to be content with knowing that “In the New Year” holds this special place on Why So Serious for more reasons than just its title; that its measured reflection paired with rambling passion feels like an apt note on which to bring 2008 to a close. Hopefully I don’t have to tell you why the song is among the year’s most notable: one listen to its incomparable keyboard riff should do that just fine.

See you in the new year, indeed.

Download: The Walkmen – “In the New Year” (Long, Long Ago)

And with that, Why So Serious is complete. Thanks to everyone who’s been following along and downloading the tracks; if you enjoyed it even half as much as I did making it, well, that’s a win in my books. If you missed anything, or are late coming to the project, you can survey every note at the Why So Serious page.

One last “year in review” post to go – my albums list – and then we’ll call 2008 a wrap here at McNutt Against the Music. Expect that over the weekend.

Leave a Reply

