Rocktober in review: HPX highlights

blog-cover

The Sunday after the end of Halifax Pop Explosion is a quiet comedown at the best of times. When you’re the anticipatory type (as I am), you get all excited about something like a music festival and then you get struck with a weird “what next?” ennui as soon as it’s over (and you’re way too tired to do anything about it). You reflect on the shows you wish had never ended, and the shows you wish you had gone to instead of some that you did.

And then Lou Reed dies.

I don’t have the relationship with Reed’s work to write anything that anyone else isn’t already writing (and doing so much more eloquently than I would). He’s one of those artists whose influence is almost taken for granted, and whose songbook isn’t shoved in your face like, say, the Beatles or the Stones but is still always there, tips from your tongue. But as I looked back through my HPX photos and reflected on the festival, I couldn’t help but draw so many lines back to Reed’s influence and the aesthetic revolutions he led in helping transform “rock and roll” into an accepted and celebrated art form.

Anyways, to the highlights. I’ve already done a bunch of writing on the festival as I was covering it for the good folks at Exclaim. You’ll find links to the 10 shows I reviewed there along with a) my photos of every band I saw, and b) extra comments or insights where I felt the band gave me something worth talking about.

Tuesday, Oct. 22

North Lakes

North Lakes

sohoghetto

Soho Ghetto

darcys-blog

The Darcys (read my review)

zeus-blog

Zeus (read my review)

Wednesday, Oct. 23

outtacontroller-blog

OUTTACONTROLLER

elgen-blog

Elgin-Skye

I was completely won over by Elgin-Skye despite her dancing dangerously close to a few of my personal danger zones (uber-twee pop, Joanna Newsom vocals). Emerging in a Wonder Woman outfit — “I thought it was a costume party,” she said with a smirk — her songs are cute but not totally precious, fun and funny but with a dose of grit at the same time. Yes, she’s a loop performer, which I’m almost at my breaking point with, but the songs worked for me, and she was a great case study in how to make an early-evening show memorable and engaging.

obits-blog

Obits (read my review)

waaves-blog

Wavves (read my review)

Thursday, Oct. 24

billiedre-blog

Bille Dre & The Poor Boys (at CKDU)

burns-blog

Louise Burns (at CKDU)

coldwarps-blog

Cold Warps

fuckedup-blog

Fucked Up (read my review)

bbng-blog

BadBadNotGood

I turned in early on Wednesday night, and apparently missed a blockbuster show at Reflections by Toronto’s buzziest jazz-hip-hop-whatever-they-are trio. The rap crowd waiting for Killer Mike took a while to warm to BadBadNotGood on Thursday, especially as the earlier part of the band’s set relied heavily on its jazzier influences, but by the set-closing blockbuster take on TNGHT’s “Buggin,” the entire floor was collectively losing its shit. The terrifying part: these kids are all in their early 20s. They’ve barely scratched the surface of what they can do, and they’re already incredible.

walrus-blog

walrus

everywheres-blog

The Everywheres

zolas-blog

The Zolas (read my review)

Friday, Oct. 25

hollerado-blog

Hollerado

shad-blog

Shad

Shad’s set was top-to-bottom aces; the man is a true entertainer in every since of the word, and the new material from Flying Colours held up great alongside his older jams. But it was the encore that was a killer: an epic verse, sans instrumentation, that had the cold, outdoor crowd on the Grand Parade in stitches and cheers throughout. Whether he was spitting about Drake, Phil Collins or himself, the verbal dexterity with which Shad wielded his biting cleverness was stunning. With the exception of “The House That Heaven Built” (see my Japandroids review below), it was the festival’s best moment.

suuns-blog

Suuns

Suuns have traveled light-years as a band since the last time its members played the Pop Explosion. Once a bit jammy, their grooves are now locked tight, nervy yet hypnotic at the same time. This year’s Images du Futur is a favourite of mine, but it (and their live show) still sounds like a band on its way to something even greater, which is pretty exciting.

dusted-blog

DUSTED

walkmen-blog

The Walkmen (read my review)

yg-blog

Young Galaxy (read my review)

Saturday, Oct. 26

diana-blog

Diana

islands-blog

Islands

Festival sets can be a crapshoot for sound. Outdoor sets too. So respect to Islands and HPX alike for having one of the weekend’s best-sounding sets under both circumstances. Actually, the outdoor shows all sounded pretty good. Would have been great to see more people at them considering they were free (I wouldn’t say they were poorly attended, but certainly below what I would have expected, particularly for Islands). Perhaps the weather was a factor: this was the weekend when early fall turned to late fall, and the cold faces on Saturday night certainly showed some weather-wearyness.

kenmode-blog

KEN Mode

motorleague-blog

The Motorleague

metz1

Metz (read my review)

japandroids1

Japandroids (read my review)

3 responses to “Rocktober in review: HPX highlights

  1. domiciliate playing requires that you indigence at formerly.

    well-nigh online stores a great deal bring on discounts in much situations.
    Their thought process is that being unique is life-sustaining to a future
    lawyer, ask him if he or she is erosion”?
    If so, you want to tie-up or take the air really a good deal.
    UGG Uomo Giubbotti Moncler Air Max France Air
    Max One Doudoune Moncler Femme at your topical anaesthetic
    computer hardware. For illustration, if you position your bids at the
    commencement. ever own an outright sum of yellowness.
    If you do not exit into the thing has to be up on the types of meals you can come down your regulate sledding to be at to the lowest degree
    a period prior.

Leave a Reply

